Americans for the Arts 2012 National Arts Awards

An elegant evening of celebrating art, culture, business and philanthropy luminaries.

Monday, October 15, 2012
New York NY

Each October, more than 400 of the nation’s top opinion leaders from the communities of art, culture, business and philanthropy, come together in Manhattan to recognize the achievements of those who have exhibited outstanding leadership in the arts, arts education, advocacy, and philanthropy, and to address the importance of supporting such issues nationwide. Held during National Arts and Humanities Month, the evening will include a cocktail hour followed by a seated dinner with a special performance by YoungArts graduates. Artists Committee member and Vanity Fair Photographer at Large, Todd Eberle will be taking one-of-a-kind Polaroid portraits, the proceeds of which will benefit Americans for the Arts. Artwork by world-renowned visual artist Julie Mehretu will also be on view throughout the evening.

Americans for the Arts 2012 National Arts Awards

6:30 p.m. Cocktail reception
7:30 p.m. Seated dinner and presentations
9:00 p.m. Dessert and performance by YoungArts, presentations continue

Event Host

Americans for the Arts

Maria Bell

Event Co-Chairs

Jody Allen
Sarah Arison
Edythe and Eli Broad
The Steven A. and Alexandra M. Cohen Foundation
Isabella and Theodor Dalenson
Julie and Edward J. Minskoff

2012 Benefit Committee

John Baldessari
Bill Bell
Melva Bucksbaum and Raymond J. Learsy
Paula and James Crown
Todd Eberle and Richard Pandiscio
Gail and Alfred Engelberg
Emily Wei Rales and Mitchell P. Rales
Agnes Gund
Justine and Jeff Koons
Marin Mazzie
Audra McDonald
Tobias Meyer and Mark Fletcher
Gael Neeson and Stefan Edlis
Nora C. and James M. Orphanides
Mrs. Lily Safra



2012 National Arts Awards Honorees

Legendary investor and Microsoft co-founder, Paul G. Allen will receive the Eli and Edythe Broad Award for Philanthropy in the Arts

Author, filmmaker, and co-founder of YoungArts and the Presidential Scholars in the Arts Program Lin Arison will receive the Arts Education Award

Tony Award®-winning stage, film, and television actor Brian Stokes Mitchell will receive the 2012 Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Arts

Grammy® nominated singer Josh Groban will receive the Bell Family Foundation Young Artist Award

Acclaimed painter and artists’ rights advocate James Rosenquist will receive the Isabella and Theodor Dalenson Lifetime Achievement Award

Americans for the Arts also announces AXA Art Insurance Corporation to receive the 2012 Corporate Citizenship in the Arts Award

Honorees will receive an award designed in 2009 by celebrated artist Jeff Koons, Americans for the Arts’ Artists Committee member and former National Arts Awards honoree of Artistic Achievement.

2012 Award Presenters

Mikhail Baryshnikov
Renée Fleming
Agnes Gund
Martin Margulies
Bebe Neuwirth
Richard Serra

Underwriter $50,000
Benefactor $25,000
Sponsor $15,000
Patron $10,000
Sustainer $5,000
Supporter $2,500

2012 Sponsors

Acquavella Galleries
The Herb Alpert Foundation
AXA Equitable
The Bell Family Foundation
The Eli and Edythe Broad Foundation
The Steven A. and Alexandra M. Cohen Foundation
Isabella and Theodor Dalenson
Gagosian Gallery
Julie and Edward J. Minskoff

About Americans for the Arts
Americans for the Arts is the leading nonprofit organization for advancing the arts and arts education in America. With offices in Washington, D.C. and New York City, it has a record of more than 50 years of service. Americans for the Arts is dedicated to representing and serving local communities and creating opportunities for every American to participate in and appreciate all forms of the arts.

Cipriani 42nd Street
110 East 42nd Street
New York, NY 10017

RELATED TOPIC: Ignazio and Maggio Cipriani’s MR. C in Beverly Hills

RELATED TOPIC: $308 million La Belle Epoque Penthouse in Monaco

RELATED TOPIC: Meet Liz Margulies

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>