Louvre Treasures from Louis XIV to Marie-Antoinette in SF

Through Sunday, March 17, 2013
San Francisco CA

Start the new year off in the lap of luxury with a visit to Royal Treasures from the Louvre: Louis XIV to Marie-Antoinette.

Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco presents an unparalleled collection of decorative arts from the Musée du Louvre, Paris, including some of the most exquisite treasures of the French monarchy from the time of Louis XIV until the Revolution of 1789.

Royal Treasures from the Louvre: Louis XIV to Marie-Antoinette

Royal Treasures from the Louvre: From Louis XIV to Marie-Antoinette is the story of French royal patronage, and the showcased objects in the exhibition are nothing less than dazzling:  the Gobelins manufactory’s masterwork mosaic tabletop of semiprecious stones; the gemmes de la couronne, precious hard stone vases collected by Louis XIV; the presents du Roi, diamond-and-gem snuffboxes made for the royal family to present as gifts; personal items made for Louis XV’s private use, or for use by his mistresses, Madame de Pompadour and Madame du Barry, including exquisite Sèvres porcelain and silver; and Marie-Antoinette’s personal collection of precious vases made of agate and other hard stones.

Many of the objects in the exhibition have never been shown in the United States and indeed, several have never left France. Royal Treasures from the Louvre: From Louis XIV to Marie-Antoinette Is an unparalleled collection of decorative objects from France’s most illustrious royalty, direct from the Musée du Louvre, and displayed for the first time in the United States in this exclusive presentation.

TICKETS
Adults $20
Seniors 65+ $17
Students $16
Youths 13-17 $10
Members and Children 12 and under are free.

About Legion of Honor
In 1915 Alma de Bretteville Spreckels fell in love with the French Pavilion at San Francisco’s Panama Pacific International Exposition. This pavilion was a replica of the Palais de la Légion d’Honneur in Paris, one of the distinguished 18th-century landmarks on the left bank of the Seine. The Hôtel de Salm, as it was first called, was designed by Pierre Rousseau in 1782 for the Prince of Salm-Krybourg. Completed in 1788, it was not destined to serve long as a royal residence; the German prince, whose fortunes fell with the French Revolution, lived there only one year. Madame de Staël owned it briefly before Napoleon took it over in 1804 as the home of his newly established Légion d’Honneur, the order he created as a reward for civil and military merit.

Legion of Honor
100 34th Avenue
San Francisco CA 94121

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>